%{search_type} search results

4 catalog results

RSS feed for this result
xxxii, 276 p. ; 22 cm.
  • Foreword to 50th anniversary edition / Kyle Gann
  • The future of music : credo
  • Experimental music
  • Experimental music : doctrine
  • Composition as process. I. Changes ; II. Indeterminacy ; III. Communication
  • Composition. To describe the process of composition used in music of changes and imaginary landscape no. 4 ; To describe the process of composition used in music for piano 21-52
  • Forerunners of modern music
  • History of experimental music in the United States
  • Erik Satie
  • Edgard Varèse
  • Four statements on the dance. Goal : new music, new dance ; Grace and clarity ; In this day
  • ; 2 pages, 122 words on music and dance
  • On Robert Rauschenberg, artist, and his work
  • Lecture on nothing
  • Lecture on something
  • 45' for a speaker
  • Where are we going? and What are we doing?
  • Indeterminacy
  • Music lovers' field companion.
Silence, John Cage's first book and epic masterpiece, was published in October 1961. In these lectures, scores, and writings, Cage tries, as he says, to find a way of writing that comes from ideas, is not about them, but that produces them. Often these writings include mesostics and essays created by subjecting the work of other writers to chance procedures using the I Ching. Fifty years later comes a beautiful new edition with a foreword by eminent music critic Kyle Gann. A landmark book in American arts and culture, Silence has been translated into more than forty languages and has sold over half a million copies worldwide. Wesleyan University Press is proud to celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the book's publication with this special hardcover edition.
(source: Nielsen Book Data)9780819571762 20160609
Music Library

2. On sonic art [1996]

xiv, 357 p. : ill., music ; 26 cm. + 1 sound disc (digital ; 4 3/4 in.)
Trevor Wishart looks at the new developments in music-making and musical aesthetics made possible by the advent of the computer and digital information processing. His emphasis is on musical rather than technical matters. The text begins with a critical analysis of the assumptions underlying the Western musical tradition and the traditional acoustic theories of Pythagoras and Helmholtz. It later examines in detail such topics as the musical organization of complex sound-objects, using and manipulating representational sounds and the various dimensions of human and non-human utterance. The author seeks to learn lessons from areas such as, poetry, sound-poetry, film, sound effects and animal communications - not traditionally associated with the field of music. An audio CD containing many of the musical examples featured in the text is also included.
(source: Nielsen Book Data)9783718658473 20160527
Music Library
Music score
1 score (55 p.) ; 24 x 32 cm. + 1 sound disc (digital, stereo. ; 4 3/4 in.)
Music Library
65 p. illus., plates, port. 25 cm.
Music Library