Search results

RSS feed for this result

3 results

Book
xii, 360 p. ; 24 cm.
  • Introduction
  • The business context of M & A transactions
  • Mergers, asset sales, and other statutory acquisitions
  • Freeze-out mergers, sales of control, and similar controlling shareholder transactions
  • Shareholder voting in acquisitions and acquisitions by shareholder vote
  • Tender offers and other stock purchases
  • Target defenses against hostile takeover bids
  • State anti-takeover legislation.
Law Library (Crown)
LAW-354-01, LAW-354-01
Book
xxvi, 1029 p. : ill. ; 26 cm.
  • Introduction to the Workbook. PART ONE: QUESTIONS. Chapter 1: Introduction and Executive Summary. Chapter 2: Ethics in M&amp--A. Chapter 3: Does M&amp--A Pay? Chapter 4: M&amp--A Activity. Chapter 5: Cross-Border M&amp--A. Chapter 6: Strategy and the Uses of M&amp--A to Grow or Restructure the Firm. Chapter 7: Acquisition Search and Deal Origination: Some Guiding Principles. Chapter 8: Due Diligence. Chapter 9: Valuing Firms. Chapter 10: Valuing Options. Chapter 11: Valuing Synergies. Chapter 12: Valuing the Firm across Borders. Chapter 13: Valuing the Highly Levered Firm, Assessing the Highly Levered Transaction. Chapter 14: Real Options and Their Impact on M&amp--A. Chapter 15: Valuing Liquidity and Control. Chapter 16: Financial Accounting for Mergers and Acquisitions. Chapter 17: Momentum Acquisition Strategies: An Illustration of Why Value Creation Is the Best Financial Criterion. Chapter 18: An Introduction to Deal Design in M&amp--A. Chapter 19: Choosing the Form of Acquisitive Reorganization. Chapter 20: Choosing the Form of Payment and Financing. Chapter 21: Framework for Structuring the Terms of Exchange: Finding the "Win-Win" Deal. Chapter 22: Structuring and Valuing Contingent Payments in M&amp--A. Chapter 23: Risk Management in M&amp--A. Chapter 24: Social Issues. Chapter 25: How a Negotiated Deal Takes Shape. Chapter 26: Governance in M&amp--A: The Board of Directors and Shareholder Voting. Chapter 27: Rules of the Road: Securities Law, Issuance Process, Disclosure, and Insider Trading. Chapter 28: Rules of the Road: Antitrust Law. Chapter 29: Documenting the M&amp--A Deal. Chapter 30: Negotiating the Deal. Chapter 31: Auctions in M&amp--A. Chapter 32: Hostile Takeovers: Preparing a Bid in Light of Competition and Arbitrage. Chapter 33: Takeover Attack and Defense. Chapter 34: The Leveraged Restructuring as a Takeover Defense: The Case of American Standard. Chapter 35: Communicating the Deal: Gaining Mandates, Approval, and Support. Chapter 36: Framework for Postmerger Integration. Chapter 37: Corporate Development as a Strategic Capability: The Approach of GE Power Systems. Chapter 38: M&amp--A "Best Practices": Some Lessons and Next Steps. PART TWO: ANSWERS. Chapter 1: Introduction and Executive Summary. Chapter 2: Ethics in M&amp--A. Chapter 3: Does M&amp--A Pay? Chapter 4: M&amp--A Activity. Chapter 5: Cross-Border M&amp--A. Chapter 6: Strategy and the Uses of M&amp--A to Grow or Restructure the Firm. Chapter 7: Acquisition Search and Deal Origination: Some Guiding Principles. Chapter 8: Due Diligence. Chapter 9: Valuing Firms. Chapter 10: Valuing Options. Chapter 11: Valuing Synergies. Chapter 12: Valuing the Firm across Borders. Chapter 13: Valuing the Highly Levered Firm, Assessing the Highly Levered Transaction. Chapter 14: Real Options and Their Impact on M&amp--A. Chapter 15: Valuing Liquidity and Control. Chapter 16: Financial Accounting for Mergers and Acquisitions. Chapter 17: Momentum Acquisition Strategies: An Illustration of Why Value Creation Is the Best Financial Criterion. Chapter 18: An Introduction to Deal Design in M&amp--A. Chapter 19: Choosing the Form of Acquisitive Reorganization. Chapter 20: Choosing the Form of Payment and Financing. Chapter 21: Framework for Structuring the Terms of Exchange: Finding the "Win-Win" Deal. Chapter 22: Structuring and Valuing Contingent Payments in M&amp--A. Chapter 23: Risk Management in M&amp--A. Chapter 24: Social Issues. Chapter 25: How a Negotiated Deal Takes Shape. Chapter 26: Governance in M&amp--A: The Board of Directors and Shareholder Voting. Chapter 27: Rules of the Road: Securities Law, Issuance Process, Disclosure, and Insider Trading. Chapter 28: Rules of the Road: Antitrust Law. Chapter 29: Documenting the M&amp--A Deal. Chapter 30: Negotiating the Deal. Chapter 31: Auctions in M&amp--A. Chapter 32: Hostile Takeovers: Preparing a Bid in Light of Competition and Arbitrage. Chapter 33: Takeover Attack and Defense. Chapter 34: The Leveraged Restructuring as a Takeover Defense: The Case of American Standard. Chapter 35: Communicating the Deal: Gaining Mandates, Approval, and Support. Chapter 36: Framework for Postmerger Integration. Chapter 37: Corporate Development as a Strategic Capability: The Approach of GE Power Systems. Chapter 38: M&amp--A "Best Practices": Some Lessons and Next Steps.
  • (source: Nielsen Book Data)9780471395850 20160610
A comprehensive guide to the world of mergers and acquisitions Why do so many M&A transactions fail? And what drives the success of those deals that are consummated? Robert Bruner explains that M&A can be understood as a response by managers to forces of turbulence in their environment. Despite the material failure rates of mergers and acquisitions, those pulling the trigger on key strategic decisions can make them work if they spend great care and rigor in the development of their M&A deals. By addressing the key factors of M&A success and failure, Applied Mergers and Acquisitions can help readers do this. Written by one of the foremost thinkers and educators in the field, this invaluable resource teaches readers the art and science of M&A valuation, deal negotiation, and bargaining, and provides a framework for considering tradeoffs in an effort to optimize the value of any M&A deal. Applied Mergers and Acquisitions is part of a complete suite of resources on M&A that includes a workbook and a CD-ROM with additional spreadsheets. Robert F. Bruner, MBA, DBA (Charlottesville, VA), is the Distinguished Professor of Business Administration at the Darden School at the University of Virginia and Executive Director of the Batten Institute. He directs the Darden School's executive education course on mergers and acquisitions, and teaches the popular MBA elective on that topic. He holds a BA from Yale University, and a MBA and DBA from Harvard University.0471395064 A comprehensive guide to the world of mergers and acquisitions 0471395064 A comprehensive guide to the world of mergers and acquisitions Why do so many M&A transactions fail? And what drives the success of those deals that are consummated? Robert Bruner explains that M&A can be understood as a response by managers to forces of turbulence in their environment. Despite the material failure rates of mergers and acquisitions, those pulling the trigger on key strategic decisions can make them work if they spend great care and rigor in the development of their M&A deals. By addressing the key factors of M&A success and failure, Applied Mergers and Acquisitions can help readers do this. Written by one of the foremost thinkers and educators in the field, this invaluable resource teaches readers the art and science of M&A valuation, deal negotiation, and bargaining, and provides a framework for considering tradeoffs in an effort to optimize the value of any M&A deal. Applied Mergers and Acquisitions is part of a complete suite of resources on M&A that includes a workbook and a CD-ROM with additional spreadsheets. Robert F. Bruner, MBA, DBA (Charlottesville, VA), is the Distinguished Professor of Business Administration at the Darden School at the University of Virginia and Executive Director of the Batten Institute. He directs the Darden School's executive education course on mergers and acquisitions, and teaches the popular MBA elective on that topic. He holds a BA from Yale University, and a MBA and DBA from Harvard University.
(source: Nielsen Book Data)9780471395058 20160610
The Applied Mergers and Acquisitions Workbook provides a useful self-training study guide for readers of Applied Mergers and Acquisitions who want to review the drivers of M&A success and failure. Useful review questions as well as problems and answers are provided for both professionals and students. Readers will further their knowledge, build practical intuition, and learn the art and science of M&A by using this comprehensive self-study workbook in conjunction with the main text.
(source: Nielsen Book Data)9780471395850 20160610
Law Library (Crown)
LAW-354-01
Book
1 v. (various pagings) : ill. ; 27 cm.
Law Library (Crown)
LAW-353-01, LAW-354-01