Search results

RSS feed for this result

4 results

Book
xi, 163 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
University presidents have become as expendable as football coaches-one bad season, scandal, or political or financial misstep and they are sent packing. A derailed presidency can undermine an institution's image, damage its alumni relations, and destroy campus morale, but it can also cost millions of dollars. During 2009 and 2010, fifty college, university, and system presidents either resigned, retired prematurely, or were fired. These high-profile campus appointments are increasingly scrutinized by faculty, administrators, alumni, and the media, and problems emerge all too publicly. A combination of constrained resources and a trend toward hiring from outside of academia results in tensions between governing boards and presidents that can quickly erupt. Sometimes presidents are dismissed for performance, financial, or institutional "fit" reasons, but there are nearly always political reasons as well. The details of these employment situations, often masked by confidentially clauses, increasingly emerge as social networks and traditional media buzz with speculation. Former university president Stephen Joel Trachtenberg, along with Gerald B. Kauvar and former chancellor E. Grady Bogue, examine what can go wrong-and indeed has-and who in academic institutions has the responsibility to address these issues before things get out of hand. Presidencies Derailed is the first book to explore in depth, from every sector of higher education, the reasons why university presidencies fail and how university and college leadership can prevent these unfortunate situations from happening.
(source: Nielsen Book Data)9781421410241 20160612
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-386-01
Book
xvi, 526 pages : illustrations ; 25 cm
  • Preface vii Acknowledgments xiii PART ONE Making Sense of Organizations 1 1 Introduction: The Power of Reframing 3 2 Simple Ideas, Complex Organizations 23 PART TWO The Structural Frame 41 3 Getting Organized 43 4 Structure and Restructuring 69 5 Organizing Groups and Teams 95 PART THREE The Human Resource Frame 113 6 People and Organizations 115 7 Improving Human Resource Management 137 8 Interpersonal and Group Dynamics 161 PART FOUR The Political Frame 183 9 Power, Conflict, and Coalition 185 10 The Manager as Politician 205 11 Organizations as Political Arenas and Political Agents 225 PART FIVEThe Symbolic Frame 243 12 Organizational Symbols and Culture 245 13 Culture in Action 271 14 Organization as Theater 285 PART SIX Improving Leadership Practice 303 15 Integrating Frames for Effective Practice 305 16 Reframing in Action: Opportunities and Perils 323 17 Reframing Leadership 337 18 Reframing Change in Organizations 371 19 Reframing Ethics and Spirit 393 20 Bringing It All Together: Change and Leadership in Action 407 21 Epilogue: Artistry, Choice, and Leadership 431 Appendix: Th e Best of Organizational Studies 435 Notes 439 Bibliography 441 Th e Authors 483 Name Index 485 Subject Index 497.
  • (source: Nielsen Book Data)9781118557389 20160616
Thoroughly updated, this fifth edition of the classic book outlines its four-frame model that examines organizations as factories, families, jungles, and theaters or temples: The Structural Frame: organize and structure groups and teams; The Human Resource Frame: tailor organizations to satisfy human needs, improve HRM, and build positive personal and group dynamics; The Political Frame: cope with power and conflict, build coalitions, hone political skills, and deal with politics; and The Symbolic Frame: shape a culture that gives purpose and meaning to work, stage organizational drama, and build team spirit.
(source: Nielsen Book Data)9781118557389 20160616
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-386-01
Book
xxiii, 254 p. ; 24 cm.
  • Preface. About the Authors. Part I Leadership Epistemology: When You Understand, You Know What to Do. 1. Opportunities and Challenges in Academic Leadership. 2. Sensemaking and the Power of Reframing. 3. Knowing What You're Doing: Learning, Authenticity, and Theories for Action. Part II Reframing Leadership Challenges. 4. Building Clarity and Capacity: Leader as Analyst and Architect. 5. Respecting and Managing Differences: Leader as Compassionate Politician. 6. Fostering a Caring and Productive Campus: Leader as Servant, Catalyst, and Coach. 7. Keeping the Faith and Celebrating the Mission: Leader as Prophet and Artist. Part III Sustaining Higher Education Leaders: Courage and Hope. 8. Managing Conflict. 9. Leading from the Middle. 10. Leading Difficult People. 11. Managing Your Boss. 12. Sustaining Health and Vitality. 13. Feeding the Soul. Epilogue: The Sacred Nature of Academic Leadership. References. Name Index. Subject Index.
  • (source: Nielsen Book Data)9780787988067 20160605
"Colleges and universities constitute a special type of organization; and their complex mission, dynamics, personnel structures, and values require a distinct set of understandings and skills to lead and manage them well." - From the Preface In Reframing Academic Leadership, Lee G. Bolman and Joan V. Gallos offer higher education leaders a provocative and pragmatic guide for Crafting dynamic institutions where the whole is greater than the sum of the parts Creating campus environments that facilitate creativity and commitment Forging alliances and partnerships in service of the mission Building shared vision and campus cultures that unite and inspire Serving the larger goals of the academy and society Throughout the book, the authors integrate powerful conceptual frameworks with rich and compelling real-world cases to support academic leaders searching for the best in themselves and in their institutions. The book tackles thorny issues such as building institutional clarity and capacity, managing conflict, coping with difficult people, partnering with the boss, and developing leadership resilience. Following in the tradition of Bolman and Deal's classic Reframing Organizations, Bolman and Gallos emphasize a pragmatic approach. They tease out the unique challenges and opportunities in academic leadership and provide ideas, tools, and encouragement to help higher education leaders see more clearly, feel more confident, and become more skilled and versatile in handling the vicissitudes of daily life. Reframing Academic Leadership is the resource for those seeking to understand, develop, and manage colleges and universities.
(source: Nielsen Book Data)9780787988067 20160605
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-386-01
Book
xxi, 252 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
  • The Nature of Academic Leadership. Sources of Effective Leadership. Improving Academic Leadership.
  • (source: Nielsen Book Data)9781555424664 20160528
This book reveals the complex factors that influence the real and perceived effectiveness of academic leaders. It shows that the qualities commonly thought to be indicators of good leadership are irrelevant and often counterproductive. It explains that successful academic leadership can be defined by the extent to which strategic constituencies?faculty, students, and others who share in campus leadership?support the president.
(source: Nielsen Book Data)9781555424664 20160528
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-386-01