%{search_type} search results

21 catalog results

RSS feed for this result

1. American Street [2017]

Book
324 pages ; 22 cm
American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture. On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie-a good life. But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own. Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?
(source: Nielsen Book Data)9780062473042 20170321
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01

2. Far from the tree [2017]

Book
374 pages ; 22 cm
Three teenagers, biological siblings separated by adoption, explore the meaning of family in all its forms--how to find it, how to keep it, and how to love it.
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01

3. The hate u give [2017]

Book
444 pages ; 22 cm
After witnessing her friend's death at the hands of a police officer, Starr Carter's life is complicated when the police and a local drug lord try to intimidate her in an effort to learn what happened the night Kahlil died.
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01
Book
344 pages ; 22 cm
When the sister who delighted their parents by her faithful embrace of Mexican culture dies in a tragic accident, Julia, who longs to go to college and move into a home of her own, discovers from mutual friends that her sister may not have been as perfect as believed.
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01
Book
234 pages ; 21 cm
"After picking up and leaving everything behind in California, eighteen-year-old Marin, with the help of her former friend, must confront her grief and the truths that caused her to flee her home"-- Provided by publisher.
Marin has picked up and left everything behind in California, carrying only her phone, her wallet, and a picture of her mother. Now she's in college, and her former friend Mabel is coming to visit. Marin will be forced to confront her grief and the truths that caused her to flee her home.
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01
Book
200 pages ; 22 cm
Sixteen-year-old Nina Faye navigates the difficult world of teenage relationships and dysfunctional family dynamics.
"When Nina Faye was fourteen, her mother told her there was no such thing as unconditional love. Nina believed her. Now Nina is sixteen. And she'll do anything for the boy she loves, just to prove she's worthy of him. But when he breaks up with her, Nina is lost. What is she if not a girlfriend? What is she made of? Broken-hearted, Nina tries to figure out what the conditions of love are. She's been volunteering at a high-kill animal shelter where she realizes that for dogs waiting to be adopted, love comes only to those with youth, symmetry, and quietness. She also ruminates on the strange, dark time her mother took her to Italy to see statues of saints who endured unspeakable torture because of their unquestioning devotion to the divine. Is this what love is? Raw, compelling, and unflinching, Elana K. Arnold's newest novel explores the darkest crevices of femaleness"-- Provided by publisher.
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01

7. Eleanor & Park [2013]

Book
328 p. ; 22 cm.
"Set over the course of one school year in 1986, this is the story of two star-crossed misfits--smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try"-- Provided by publisher.
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01
Book
359 p. ; 22 cm.
Fifteen-year-old Ari Mendoza is an angry loner with a brother in prison, but when he meets Dante and they become friends, Ari starts to ask questions about himself, his parents, and his family that he has never asked before.
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01

9. Grave mercy [2012]

Book
549 p. : ill., map ; 22 cm.
"Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf?" Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the sisters still serve the gods of old. Here she learns that the god of Death Himself has blessed her with dangerous gifts--and a violent destiny. If she chooses to stay at the convent, she will be trained as an assassin and serve as a handmaiden to Death. To claim her new life, she must destroy the lives of others. Ismae's most important assignment takes her straight into the high court of Brittany--where she finds herself woefully under prepared--not only for the deadly games of intrigue and treason, but for the impossible choices she must make. For how can she deliver Death's vengeance upon a target who, against her will, has stolen her heart?
(source: Nielsen Book Data)9780547628349 20160610
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01
Book
233 p. : chiefly col. ill. ; 21 cm.
  • Story 1: "All Jin Wing wants is to fit in. When his family moves to a new neighborhood, he suddenly finds that he's the only Chinese American student at the school. Jocki and his bullies pick on him constantly, and he has hardly any friends. Then, to make matters worse, he falls in love with an all-American girl." Story 2: "Born to rule over all the monkeys in the world, the story of the Monkey King is one of the oldest and greatest Chinese fables. Adored by his subjects, master of the arts of kung-fu, he is the most powerful monkey on Earth. But the Monkey King doesn't want to be a monkey. He wants to be hailed as a god ..." Story 3: "Chin-Kee is the ultimate negative Chinese stereotype, and he's ruining his cousin Danny's life. Danny's a basketball player, a popular kid at school, but every year Chin-Kee comes to visit, and every year Danny has to transfer to a new school to escape the shame. This year, though, things quickly go from bad to worse"
  • Publisher's description.
Alternates three interrelated stories about the problems of young Chinese Americans trying to participate in the popular culture. Presented in comic book format.
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01

11. The hunger games [2008]

Book
374 p. ; 22 cm.
Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. But Katniss has been close to death before - and survival, for her, is second nature. The Hunger Games is a searing novel set in a future with unsettling parallels to our present. Welcome to the deadliest reality TV show ever...
(source: Nielsen Book Data)9780439023528 20160607
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01

12. A wrinkle in time [1962]

Book
245 pages : illustrations ; 18 cm.
Meg Murry and her friends become involved with unearthly strangers and a search for Meg's father, who has disappeared while engaged in secret work for the government.
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01
Book
233 p. : col. ill. ; 23 cm.
This is a tour-de-force new work by rising indie comics star Gene Yang. "American Born Chinese" maps the adolescent Chinese-American experience through three separate but interwoven stories. One story centres on Jin Wang, a Chinese-American student at an all-white California high school. Jin is plagued by jocks and bullies, so when another Chinese student transfers to the school, Jin wants nothing to do with him. Next is a comic update of the legendary story of the Monkey King, an ancient Chinese morality tale. Finally, there's the gross and surreal stereotype of Chin-Kee, the ultimate negative Chinese cliche, complete with a sitcom-style "laugh track". These three apparently unrelated tales come together in an astonishing climax - all with a mighty blast of humour, surprising poignancy and skilled artistry.
(source: Nielsen Book Data)9781596431522 20160615
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01

14. Monster [1999]

Book
281 p. : ill. ; 22 cm.
Sixteen-year-old Steve Harmon is on trial for murder. Guilty or innocent, Steve becomes a pawn in the hands of the "system". As a way of coping with the horrific events that entangle him, Steve, an amateur film-maker, decides to transcribe his trial into a script.
(source: Nielsen Book Data)9780060280772 20160528
Green Library, Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01

15. The outsiders [1967]

Book
188 p. 22 cm.
The struggle of three brothers to stay together after their parent's death and their quest for identity among the conflicting values of their adolescent society.
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01
Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01

19. Monster

Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01

20. Outsiders

Education Library (Cubberley)
EDUC-111-01