jump to search box

Bestiario Onírico [electronic resource] / Marisol Jimenez Becerra.



Other libraries

Jimenez Becerra, Marisol.
Publication date:
  • Book, Thesis
  • 1 online resource.
Submitted to the Department of Music.
DMA Stanford University 2011
Bestiario Onírico This series of works, collectively entitled Bestiario Onírico, consists of four pieces for chamber ensemble allied with different combinations of electronic means. The title translates roughly as "a collection of beastlike images from dreams". I have always been driven by the enigmatic nature of dreams that fix a revelation from the unconscious, haunting me until it later becomes manifest as a concrete artistic gesture. Though it is not my intention to imitate or literally represent the idiosyncrasies of dreams, they act as an inspirational reservoir and have always been present in my work. In some cases a dream impression or image is transferred into a formalizing device; in others the literal content of a dream generates a musical idea. These pieces are not only connected through a common creative approach, but also explore similar formal concerns. One of these is the interplay between continuous and discrete sound masses, as well as the transformation of one into the other. The series of Bestiario Onírico resembles a series of voyages unfolding through diverse states. For example, the first piece, Migración, is the most continuous, while the last piece, Humedal, is envisaged as a synthesis of discrete and continuous transformations. The combination of electronic and acoustic media suggests a global "virtual reality" within which the entire series is situated. In the individual works, the integration of acoustic and electronic aspects complements the employment of the extended means of sound production in the acoustic ensemble. The complete series of pieces has an approximate duration of 37 minutes. The following scheme shows the overall form of the series: I. Migración for flute, oboe, clarinet, trombone, viola, cello, double-bass and electronics. (9.5 min) II. Ciudadela for amplified flute and cello (6.5 min) III. AMBA for bass clarinet, accordion and electric guitar (8.5 min) IV. Humedal for amplified trombone, amplified percussion, electronically modified harp, double-bass and two electronic performers (11 ~ min).
Ferneyhough, Brian, 1943- primary advisor.
Applebaum, Mark advisor.
Chafe, Chris, advisor.
Ulman, Erik, 1969- advisor.
Stanford University. Department of Music

powered by Blacklight
© Stanford University. Stanford, California 94305. (650) 725-1064. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints | Opt Out of Analytics
jump to top