jump to search box

The poet and the idiot : and other stories / Friedebert Tuglas ; translated by Eric Dickens.



At the Library

Other libraries

Uniform Title:
Short stories. Selections. English
Tuglas, Friedebert, 1886-1971.
English. Translated from the Estonian.
Publication date:
Budapest ; New York : Central European University Press, 2007.
  • Book
  • xx, 339 p. ; 21 cm.
  • Introduction-- Freedom and Death-- The Golden Hoop-- Arthur Valdes-- Cannibals-- Echo of the Epoch-- The Wanderer-- The Mermaid-- The Air is Full of Passion-- The Poet and the Idiot-- The Day of the Androgyne.
  • (source: Nielsen Book Data)
Publisher's Summary:
Estonian literature in its written form is little more than a century old. As Estonia was part of the Russian Empire, then of the Soviet Union, it is something of a miracle that the powerful presence of the Baltic Germans, the periods of Russification, and other more subtle forms of cultural pressure, have not eradicated Estonian as a serious literary language. One of the central figures to credit for this was Friedebert Tuglas. The nine stories, and the essay, featured here were written during the World War One, or in the first years of Estonian independence in the early 1920s. They reflect the troubled spirit of the times, but exhibit the influence of a wide selection of writers, ranging from O. Wilde and M. Gorky, to F. Nietzsche and Edgar Allan Poe. The subject matter of Tuglas' stories represented here ranges from a starving prisoner, via a luckless pharmacist's hallucinations from childhood, a wandering soldier who encounters weird spirits, to a young man sitting in a park, accosted by a devilish lunatic who wants to introduce a new brand of devil worship to the world.
(source: Nielsen Book Data)
Dickens, Eric.
Central European classics series, 1448-0162
Central European classics (Budapest, Hungary)

powered by Blacklight
© Stanford University. Stanford, California 94305. (650) 725-1064. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints | Opt Out of Analytics
jump to top